Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for governing and overseeing the institution’s strategic direction, financial decisions and advancement initiatives. The board directs the operations of the university, working closely with the president.


Andrew U. Ferrari, Chair
William F. Brandt, Jr., Vice Chair
Marjorie S. Lewis, ’81, Secretary
Robert J. Frogale, Treasurer
James T. Vickers, Past Chair
Tracy Fitzsimmons, Ph.D., President and Registered Agent


Walter H. Aikens
Pamela A. Bell
C.J. Borden
Stephen P. Caruthers
Teresa A. Cluss
Laura N. Dabinett, M.D.
Anne-Marie Dunn
Mary Bruce Glaize, ’97
The Rev. Dr. Jay M. Hanke
Stanley E. Harrison
The Rev. Tommy Herndon
L. Janell Hoffman, ’91, ’93
Diane S. Kearns
Ann MacLeod
Art H. Major
Keith A. May
Richard R.J. Morin
Nicholas J. Nerangis, Sr., ’04
Mark J. Ohrstrom, ’92
Debra Orbacz, ’04
Bipin B. Patel
The Rev. John B. Peters 
Mary Farland Shockey
Gerald F. Smith, Jr.
Harry S. Smith
Mark E. Stavish, Ed.D.
John D. Stokely, Jr.
James A. Stutzman, Jr., ’81
The Rev. Lawrence R. Thompson, Jr.
Charles A. Veatch
F. Dixon Whitworth, Jr.
James R. Wilkins, Jr.
Heather H. Wilson, ’93
Irene R. Wurtzel

Honorary Trustee

Miyako Kake

Trustees Emeriti

Frank Armstrong, III
Dr. Warren L. Braun
Ruth D. Bridgeforth
Magalen O. Bryant
Massie Hawthorne Burns
Betty H. Carroll
William H. Clement
H. Robert Edwards
Wilbur M. Feltner
Hunter M. Gaunt Jr., M.D.
Elizabeth G. Helm
Jeffrey D. Hester, ’85
John K. Marlow
The Hon. John O. Marsh, Jr.
Suzanne W. McKown
Jan Neuharth
Larry T. Omps
Aubrey J. Owen
Charles A. Pine, Jr.
Lacy I. Rice, Jr.
Linda C. Russell
The Rev. Dr. Lee B. Sheafer
Ralph D. Shockey
C. Robert Solenberger
The Hon. Kenneth W. Starr
W. James Truettner, Jr.
Kathryn Perry Werner
Maj. Gen. Charles E. Williams
The Rev. Dr. Raymond Wrenn