Shenandoah University

Travel with #suGCP Videos from Abroad

The 2018 GCP Teams are around the world in Uruguay, Spain, China, Rwanda, and Iceland! 

SU’s Global Citizenship Project provides global experiences that encourage students, faculty and staff to gain a greater awareness of themselves and an appreciation for the cultural differences that make our world a better place.

Each spring break, Shenandoah sends 60 selected students, faculty, and staff to international destinations to help broaden their horizons. Applicants sign on without knowing where they will travel—They could be spending spring break anywhere in the world!

GCP removes the boundaries associated with first-time travel, in order to whet the appetites of participants for longer-term learning abroad.

The Global Citizenships Project is all costs included for participants!

The Rwanda team includes:

Faculty Leader: Joey Gawrysiak
Michelle Gamber
Myles Hairston
Stephanie Fazenbaker
Connor McKay
Cameron Sickler
Timothy Au
Eva Tyler
Rebecca Tewksbury
John Massie
Sarah Macias


my first guava- right off the tree! 🍈 #sugcp #suisglobal

A post shared by Eva Tyler (@retrospectacle) on


The Uruguay team includes:

Faculty Leader: Montressa Washington
Glenn Anderson
Colleen Preuninger
Alina Antonenko
Stephanie Duvall
Antonio Robinson
Rebecca Collimore
Tedric Lolis
Sydney Arnette
Brooklyn Pumphrey
Jared Morris


The China team includes:

Faculty Leader: Wenbin Tang
Student Assistant: Enlin Qing
Teresa Schweiger
Aaron Haecker
Kiera Lane
Matthew Lillis
Jasmyn McLeod
Mallory Veil
Samantha Weathersby
Jillian Wilkins
Joseph Robinson
Ashley Bryan
Harry Smith
Bob Keasler

The Iceland team includes:

Faculty Leader: Gerry Kiefer
Amanda Sutherland
Rachel Carter Conklin
Jane Clukey
Patrick Dumais
Mary Wolfrey
Collin Smeltzer
Christian Patterson
Emily Jackson
Shaila Murdock
Isaac Schrantz


Kaboom 👨‍🏭🤘 #geyser #sugcp #suisglobal #travel

A post shared by Ryan Rashidi (@ridingthestorm) on

The Spain team includes:

Faculty Leader: Adela Borrallo-Solis
Andy Eugene
Aby Diop
Heather Ferguson
Uyen Tran
Jo Ann Batteiger
Morgan Zotta
Austin McCarron
Nyrissa Osborn
Megan McDermott
Griffin Bunch


A post shared by Heather Ferguson (@hferguson92) on


A post shared by Heather Ferguson (@hferguson92) on


Read more blogs from GCP 2018