Text Only Version

Shenandoah Conservatory Announces Conservatory Advisory Board Members

Conservatory Advisory Board

Seated, left to right: Linda R. Hall, Patrick D. McCoy, Dean Michael Stepniak, Dr. Ryuji Ueno, Doug Wheeler, Amanda Sweet, Marjorie Lewis, J. Knox Singleton, Alan Wurtzel.
Standing, left to right: Libby Ingham, Laura Dabinett, Amy Fielder, Melanie Mathewes, Col. Bernard E. McDaniel, and Irene Wurtzel. Not pictured: Gerard Schwarz, Tom Sweitzer, and Andrew U. Ferrari.

Shenandoah University (SU) and Shenandoah Conservatory are pleased to announce the appointment of 16 members to the newly formed Conservatory Advisory Board. Six appointees are SU alumni and two are adjunct faculty. All advisory board members represent the interests of each division within the conservatory.

The Conservatory Advisory Board (CAB) works with Dean and Professor of Music Michael Stepniak, Ed.D., to support Shenandoah Conservatory’s growth into Virginia’s leading center for the performing arts and one of the finest conservatories in the country. Board members cherish being change-agents and advancing excellence in the performing arts (whether in music, theatre or dance). They are energized by the conservatory’s mission and core values and, coming from diverse backgrounds, offer complementary perspectives and viewpoints.

“Shenandoah Conservatory has achieved world-class status in a growing number of areas across the conservatory,” explained Dr. Stepniak. “I am looking forward to working with the Conservatory Advisory Board to help strategically advance the conservatory in other key areas, especially as we look ahead to SU’s sesquicentennial in 2025. I am grateful to this group for coming together to assist in this important work.”

Visit www.su.edu/performs/about/conservatory-advisory-board to meet the members and learn more.