Text Only Version

Dean’s Circle

Many gifts to Shenandoah Conservatory are designated for specific programs or projects. While these gifts make a tremendous impact, they do not allow conservatory leadership to respond swiftly when presented with exciting new opportunities that require additional funding. Membership in the Dean’s Circle provides unrestricted critical funds that enable us to meet unanticipated needs and seize opportunities as they arise. This kind of flexibility is vitally important in building our national profile and shaping the ultimate direction of the conservatory.

Since its beginning in 2016, the Dean’s Circle has funded 92 Student Development Grants and 55 Faculty Initiatives/Innovation Entrepreneurship Grants. In 2020, to ensure student success, the Dean’s Circle tackled immediate conservatory needs in response to COVID-19. View the Dean’s Circle 2019/20 Annual Report for more information on all 2019/20 projects and to explore the year in review.

A Generous Gift Supports Students in Studio Lessons During COVID-19 Displacement

Thanks to a generous and recent Dean’s Circle donor gift, 166 Shenandoah Conservatory students (scattered across 18 states and Washington, D.C.) received a Samson Go Mic Portable USB Condenser Microphone to support studio lessons during COVID-19 displacement.

“The microphone was a game-changer. We had the best lesson I’ve taught in the 3 weeks we’ve been online. I’m so appreciative of the fact that the students have access to these little pieces of technology. It had a profound impact on the productivity of the lesson and what I thought I could get done with the student.”
– Dr. Byron Jones | Associate Professor of Voice (Tenor)


$10,000 Visionary
$5,000 Creator
$2,500 Enthusiast
$1,000 Member


  • Name recognition on the Conservatory Performs website
  • Invitations to exclusive online and virtual programming

When our in-person performances resume, Dean’s Circle members will again enjoy:

  • Two invitations to exclusive Dean’s Circle signature events
  • Two invitations to meet-the-artist events with Shenandoah Conservatory students, faculty and guest artists




Mr. & Mrs. Andrew U. Ferrari
Will & Libby Ingham


Ms. Amy Fielder
Miss Stuart T. Greene
Marjorie & John Lewis
Mr. & Mrs. Alan L. Wurtzel


Col. & Mrs. Bernard E. McDaniel
Mr. & Mrs. Bruce E. Hunter
Mr. & Mrs. Michael S. Tanguay


Ms. Judith L. Britcher & Dr. Patrick P. McDermott
Doctors Laura Dabinett & Russell McKelway
Ms. Clare Monahan Dame
Kathleen Diamond & Robert Beckwith, Jr.
Dr. & Mrs. William W. Ellis
Dr. Tracy Fitzsimmons & Mr. J. Knox Singleton
Mr. & Mrs. Eric Fox
Mark & Erika Francis
Ms. April A. Gannon
Mr. & Mrs. Hyung S. Hahn
Dr. Benjamin S. Hanson
Ms. Susanne S. Jackson
Dr. & Mrs. James C. Laidlaw
Melanie & Perry Mathewes
Mr. & Mrs. Douglas J. Mathews

Middleburg Concert Foundation
Eleanor Pendleton Monahan
Dr. & Mrs. Stuart A. Monroe
Mr. Kunduck Moon
Mr. & Mrs. Mitchell L. Moore
Dr. & Mrs. William M. Murray
Dr. Kate Reed
Mrs. Jeannette K. Rinehart
Dr. Timothy J. & Carolyn Robblee
Dr. & Mrs. Timothy E. Roberts
Dr. Ryan D. Romine & Dr. Byron A. Jones
Dr. Michael Stepniak & Dr. Anne Schempp
Col. & Mrs. Thomas D. Stouffer
Mr. & Mrs. James R. Wilkins, Jr.


Mr. & Mrs. Douglas C. Brown, Sr.
Dr. Frances L. & Dr. William E. Averitt
Ms. Inger Coopchik & Mr. Stefhan R. Sherman
Mr. John W. Dresely
Martha Wollner


Shenandoah University is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. All gifts are tax deductible to the full extent of the law.